Personal tools

Home > About Us > Artists' Committee
Share This:

Artists' Committee

Innocence Project Artists' Committee

The Innocence Project Artists’ Committee is a group of writers, directors, actors, visual artists and musicians who support the Innocence Project and are helping raise awareness about wrongful convictions. 

Members of the Artists’ Committee lend their talent and voice to the Innocence Project’s vital work in a variety of ways. They help raise awareness and money to free innocent prisoners, they speak out about the need to prevent wrongful convictions, and they integrate these issues into their art. A wide range of artists have long been drawn to the Innocence Project because of the profound impact the organization has in its litigation and policy reform work and because they know first-hand the power of art and entertainment to raise awareness and engage more of the public in these issues.

Following are the members of the Innocence Project Artists’ Committee:

  • Joan Baez
  • Bob Balaban
  • Paris Barclay
  • Blue Man Group
  • Amy Brenneman
  • James Bundy
  • Ken Burns
  • Stephen Colbert
  • Judy Collins
  • Zooey Deschanel
  • Dave Eggers
  • Eve Ensler
  • Jules Feiffer and Jenny Allen
  • Whoopi Goldberg
  • Tony Goldwyn
  • John Grisham
  • Charles Grodin
  • Taylor Hackford
  • Timothy Hill
  • Dexter Holland
  • Gale Anne Hurd
  • Norm Lewis
  • John Bedford Lloyd
  • Nia Long
  • Dave Matthews
  • Matisyahu
  • Frances McDormand and Joel Coen
  • Paul D. Miller aka DJ Spooky
  • Helen Mirren
  • Matthew Modine
  • John Mulaney and Annamarie Tendler
  • Mike O’Malley
  • Yoko Ono
  • Sarah Jessica Parker and Matthew Broderick
  • Ryan Phillippe
  • Aidan Quinn
  • Marky Ramone
  • Toshi Reagon
  • Trent Reznor
  • Susan Sarandon
  • Taryn Simon
  • John Singleton
  • Morgan Spurlock
  • Debra Winger and Arliss Howard

For more information about the Innocence Project Artists’ Committee, contact Paul Cates at 212-364-5346 or

Photos (and credits): 

First row (left to right) – John Singleton (Bobak Ha’eri), Amy Brenneman, John Grisham, Paris Barclay, Helen Mirren

Second row – Trent Reznor, Paul D. Miller aka DJ Spooky, Stephen Colbert, Matthew Modine (David Shankbone), Nia Long

Third row – Zooey Deschanel, Bob Balaban (Lisa Ross), Tony Goldwyn, Yoko Ono (Chris Floyd/©Yoko Ono), Dave Matthews

Join the Movement

Join with the 65,000 people who are committed to helping free the innocent.